Recent Posts

How and Why to Bet Long Odds

October 16, 2019

Thursday Night Football Free Pick

October 16, 2019

NFL MVP Odds

October 15, 2019

Sportsbooks Clean Up on NFL Sunday

October 14, 2019

Line Shopping for Best Futures Odds Pays Big

October 14, 2019

NFL Week 7 Opening Lines

October 12, 2019

Notre Dame vs USC Betting Preview and Angles

October 12, 2019

NBA Championship Odds 2019

October 11, 2019

Rams vs 49ers Betting Preview

October 9, 2019

NFL Offensive and Defensive Rookie of the Year Odds

October 9, 2019

New York Giants vs New England Patriots Betting Preview

October 8, 2019

Odds on Next Redskins Coach

October 8, 2019

Top Ranked Sportsbooks

sportsbook online

Georgia Football Preview 2019

July 25, 2019
team preview Georgia bulldogs 2019

Second year head coach James Coley and Georgia fans are excited about the 2019 campaign. Things look good on paper for the Bulldogs. Now, can the team on the field live up to expectations?

In this article we will preview the 2019 Georgia Bulldogs football team. We will analyze the offense and defense and give out a rating for each ranging from poor-excellent. We will then make a conclusion and give a betting preview as well.

Offense

The Georgia offense has 6 returning starters from 2018. Most importantly they have Jake Fromm and D’Andre Swift back. These two generated a large majority of the offense last year. QB Fromm threw for 2,749 yards and 30 TD’s. while Swift ran for 1,049 yards and 10 TD’s.

Jeremiah Holloman is the top returning receiver. He had 24 catches for 418 yards and 5 TD’s last year. He will look to at least double those numbers this year.

The offensive line looks pretty solid. Though there are three new starters being plugged-in, LT Andrew Thomas is a pre-season All-American. There is experience on this line. The new starters have had reps in previous seasons.

There is no reason why this offense can’t duplicate their success from last season when they averaged 37.9 PPG.

Verdict: Excellent


Defense

The defense returns seven starters from last season. Last year the defense allowed only 19.2 PPG, 4.0 yards per carry and 180 passing yards per game.

The teams only weakness is the edge where they have no returning starts and will look to plug-in a freshmen and a sophomore. The edge will get tested early and if they can step up to the challenge, this defense is capable of keeping the Bulldogs in every game.

The secondary is a talented, veteran group. There is only one new starter, Eric Stokes, a 6’1″ 185 lb. sophomore. Word is that he will do just fine.

I cannot call this defense excellent with the looming uncertainty at the edge. This is a very important part of the field. For right now I am going to say this defense is good until proven otherwise.

Verdict: Good


Other notes:

Georgia was 10-3 straight up in 2018.

Georgia was 8-6 ATS in 2018.

Georgia out-gained opponents on punt and kick returns by a combine total of about 450 yards.

Notable wins:

  • vs Florida 36-17
  • vs Auburn 27-10

Conclusion

This is a solid football team. I can see them performing near last year’s level. If they exceed last year’s output then they may have a chance at the national title.

Verdict: Excellent


Betting

The sportsbook win total odds have Georgia at 10.5 regular season wins. Georgia plays twelve games. This means they can only afford to lose one game if you bet the over. They play Notre Dame, Florida and Texas A&M this year. I don’t feel completely comfortable advising someone to bet the over 10.5 wins. There is a chance they could lose two games. For Georgia’s full schedule click here

Game 1 has Georgia squaring off against SEC foe Vanderbilt. The Bulldogs are -20 points in this contest. We believe this line to be low and that Georgia is a solid pick against the spread.

Sportsbook

Leave a Reply